Indonesia – Lombok Selatan

I have  always been curious with the stories about the beautiful beaches in Lombok Selatan (South Lombok) area. Therefore, during Easter break this year, I proved that the beaches in South Lombok are indeed so beautiful and are the most beautiful I’ve ever seen in Indonesia (so far). Lombok has always been famous for its three Gili islands (Gili Trawangan, Meno & Air). The local government has just finished building a new international airport near Lombok Selatan area (Kuta beach) with the intention to promote this area more.  However, according to the hostel’s staff, since the new airport opened, tourist numbers have been decreasing.My journey started from Kuta Beach, a famous beach that can be reached from Praya International Airport in 20 minutes (IDR 50,000 with meter) by taxi. There are lots of accommodations along the beach both for budget and non-budget travellers. I stayed in Puri Rinjani Bungalow. I arrived almost at 6pm, but still had some spare time to enjoy the beach. The beach has a long coast-line, with no waves, perfect for sunbathing or swimming. The sand texture is quite rough with big grains, as if you stand in pepper not sand. Surrounding the beach are hills and cliffs. The hills look like those in Teletubbies, only planted with low vegetation.

Kuta Beach

Kuta Beach

Kuta Beach

Kuta Beach

I started my trip the next morning; the first place to visit was Tanjung Aan beach. I have always heard about this beach either from friends’ stories or blogs. This beach with its long coast line is very quiet. No local sellers will harass you to buy their goods like in Kuta beach. It doesn’t have any waves either and is located on the same bay as Kuta Beach’s. If you are lucky enough, you can see from far away a group of cows on top of the hill. I bet they’re also having a sunbath😀  For me, this beach is not really a perfect place to sunbathe or swim because its shoreline is not so wide. The uniqueness of this beach is that its sand is totally different from those at Kuta Beach, very soft…..

Tanjung Aan

Tanjung Aan

Seger Beach. This beach is not too far away from Tanjung Aan. When I saw this beach and saw the impressive scenery in front of me, I jumped directly from the motorbike. Seger beach has two beaches that have different types of waves. On the left side the waves are quite big and can be used for surfing. While, hidden in the small hill is the other one. The beach is calm and with smaller waves. To get the best view of those beaches, I climbed the nearest hill. I stayed for 30min only to adore the view. From the top of the hill, I did not only see Seger beach, but also other beaches with waves coming in from the ocean. Sooo beautiful. Seger beach is the best beach so far!  The only disturbance was the food vendors who kept pushing me to buy a coconut and they followed me around even when I was on top of the hill.

Seger Beach - Left Side

Seger Beach - Left Side

Seger Beach - Left Side

Seger Beach - Right Side

Next stop is Mawun beach. The beach is on the bay and has some little waves. I guess this is the best beach to do sun bathing because there is almost no one at this beautiful beach. I only met 3 tourists and some locals swimming at the beach. It’s a very peaceful place. It’s a perfect place to read a book and swim without any disturbance from food/souvenir vendors. Just make sure that you bring your snacks and drinks because I didn’t see any food stalls.

Mawun Beach

Mawun Beach

Moving a little bit further away from Mawun beach is Selong Belenak beach. This beach has a very wide shore-line, small waves and is a perfect place to learn surfing. Several tourists were learning how to surf here. Also perfect for sun bathing and hell yeah, every beach is worth to have a sun bath.

Selong Belanak Beach

Selong Belanak Beach

There are still many of beaches I didn’t see. I saw lots of tourists with their surfer boards and I didn’t know where they went surfing. The beaches are famous among foreigners. Just make sure you don’t go during weekends. According to the food vendors, lots of locals go to all the beaches I mentioned above during weekends. I was there on Friday and all the beaches were very quiet…

Lombok Selatan has truly won my heart🙂

Comments
3 Responses to “Indonesia – Lombok Selatan”
  1. noctilucent says:

    compare to the famous three gili, which one is better ? i”ve been to gili, i’m considering to visit south lombok this year, thanks for sharing🙂

Leave a Reply

